Retention Automation Work Group (RAWG)

RAWG is a multi-disciplined, cross-campus advisory team reporting to the Records Management Steering Committee. Our scope is to develop, operationalize and automate records retention policies for UBC’s systems and applications. The work includes operational, technical and communication efforts necessary for implementation.

RAWG News and Announcements


Zoom video retention policy postponed and recordings to be stored in Kaltura

2023-11-14 Zoom chats to be removed after 90 days starting March 31, 2024
2023-10-18 Zoom and Microsoft Teams video retention policy going into effect soon
2023-08-09 Zoom and MS Teams 1 year video retention policy announced
2022-12-19 The Naming of Committees – automating retention rules and the renaming the Email and Messaging Retention Working Group
2022-10-17 Coming October 2023 – One-year Data Retention Schedule for Zoom & MS Teams Video Recordings
2022-01-13 “…I calibrated the disposition to destroy…” Reducing FASMail Bloat by Utilizing Rules and AutoArchiving
2021-09-27 A 90-day Data Retention Schedule for FASmail Default Transitory Folders is Coming October 4, 2021
2021-09-19 A Banner Year For Email and Messaging Retention Working Group
A 90 Day data retention schedule for FASmail default transitory folders (Deleted/Junk/RSS) is coming October 4, 2021
A 90 Day Data Retention Schedule for MS Teams Chat Coming April 30

This work would not be possible without the insight and commitment of the following colleagues:

  • Scott Baker, Manager, Sensitive Research Advanced Research Computing
  • Mark Belsito, Manager, Operations Communication and Collaboration Services UBC-IT
  • Erika Brimacombe, Legal Counsel, Information and Privacy
  • Garry Der, Manager, Audio Visual Support, UBC-IT
  • Paige Hohmann, Archivist, UBCO
  • Elizabeth Kinney, Senior Manager, Learning Applications
  • Mike Nichols, Client Services Manager, Engagement Services, UBC-IT
  • Christian Stockman, Information and Security Risk Advisor, Safety and Risk Services
  • Barbara Towell, E-Records Manager, Records Management Office, University Archives (Chair)
  • Anthony Winstanley, Director of IT, Faculty of Computer Science